2 weeks ago

Our DCC youths were in Yorkshire this week at the UCI World Championships. They did a brilliant job of cheering for team Ireland with Eddie Dunbar and Sam Bennett.


The Saturday club had just five due to the rugby match kicking off early. Making the most of virtually traffic free roads it was up Colligan in a Gusty headwind. Turning left for the black hill and the sharp Modeligo climb before descending Millstreet. Onwards to Clashmore and coffee in Ardmore. A dodgy chain for one rider and a gear jam for lady rider halted progress temporarily before descending Old Parish and home before the rain 80k at 28kph.

G5 had a fine group of 12 cyclists, including 2 from 23k, setting out on the last Sunday in September. The group headed out on the scheduled route to Kilmacthomas via 5 cross roads. Bright but quite blustery conditions ensured a leisurely pace was maintained throughout. Coffee was consumed at Kierseys and the group exchanged pleasantries with some cyclists from Waterford before facing the homeward journey via Mahon Bridge. The pace picked up on the smooth and flat Carrick road to Lemybrien returning home by Durrow. 4 of the group took the Greeenway home at this point. At Clonea, 5 of the remaining group added in the Gold Coast Loop completing 55km @ 20kph. This is a great time of year for newcomers to try group cycling. Three tryout spins can be had before joining DCC. G5 routes are approximately 50-55km at this time of year. Go on, give it a go!

Some of the G23k group opted to partipate in the 100km spin for pieta house held in Kilworth Co.Cork. The spin took us out of Kilworth through Argolin back into familiar territory of Lismore. Out of Lismore the cycle took us towards knockanore for the first waterstop then it was onto Tallow and then to Conna for the food stop were we spoted an old Dcc jersey worn by Aaron Nixon G2 I think. Refueled the group headed for Rathcormack then into Fermoy before heading back to base in Kilworth. ... See more

2 weeks ago

This week on the road

2 weeks ago

Well done Judit

Medal alert!! Medal alert!!! Gold for junior swimmer David in Sandycove and Silver for masters swimmer Judit well done everyone ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ’ช๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐Ÿฅ‡๐Ÿฅ‡โ˜”๏ธโ˜”๏ธ๐ŸŠโ€โ™€๏ธ๐ŸŠโ€โ™€๏ธ๐ŸŠโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐ŸŠโ€โ™‚๏ธ

2 weeks ago

Day 2 - DCC at the Yorkshire 2019 2019 UCI Road World Championships Live #cycling Sam Bennett @eddiedundar @conordunne @marcelkittle @danmartin VeloRevolution Strata3 VeloRevolution Cycling Team

2 weeks ago

DCC Day 2 - Yorkshire 2019 Beefeater Bend

2 weeks ago

DCC youths at the UCI World Championships Yorkshire 2019 meeting their heroโ€™s Peter Sagan Elia Viviani Daniel Oss BORA-hansgrohe Deceuninck - Quick-Step Cycling Team
Cycling Ireland Cycling Ireland Youth Commission ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ best of luck to these 3 riders, so generous with their time but still shouting for Team Ireland ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ชon Sunday Sam Bennett Eddie Dunbar

#dungarvancyclingclub #worldchampionships #yorkshire #petersagan #eliaviviani #danieloss #cyclingireland #teamireland

2 weeks ago

Don't let the weather dampen your spirits this weekend, get on your bike and join DCC on anyone of our group spins๐Ÿ˜€

Saturday club spin Kilrush 9am route to be confirmed mixed group steady pace

Sunday club spins Civic office plaza 9am

G3: Old sweep, Youghal, Killeagh, Mt. Uniacke, Tallow (coffee), Lismore, Cappoquin, Home. 95k

G4: Lismore - Tallow - Camphire - Cappoquin โ˜• - Dromana - Villerstown - Kereen - Bog Road - Dungarvan 80Km

G23k: Bog road Aglish ,Villierstown,Dromana,Cappoquin , Dearpark, Lismore coffee,kilmolash road,Bog road, Home,

G5 Five Crossroads, Kilmacthomas โ˜•๏ธ, Mahon bridge, Home

Enjoy and stay safe ๐Ÿ˜€

3 weeks ago

As the weather turns to Autumn, DCC go cycling whatever the weather.


A change of days for G5 saw 8 cyclists depart Dungarvan on Saturday morning. With Margaret as our tour guide the group made their way out the Youghal road turning for Ring. Here our mystery tour began with a turn down to the cunniger, cycling past the college, Mooneyโ€™s and up by the Gaa field where a turn left saw some of the group on roads never travelled before. Passing through Ballinamona we made our way to our destination of Mine head lighthouse. Here we were warmly met by Paud Morrissey who gave us a very informative tour of the lighthouse and provided us with a cuppa in the lighthouse keepers cottage. What a fabulous historic scenic part of our county. Many thanks to Paud and our own Margaret who organised the visit.
On departing the lighthouse the weather changed, with the rain dampening the enthusiasm for further exploration of Old Parish, five of the group decided to cut short our cycle and head for home, completing 40k @ 18kph. The hardier remaining 3 continued with the tour and made their way to Mount Stuart church and home by the Cappoquin road cycling 67k.

G23k. Two Members of group 23 joined forces with two members of group 4 this morning. The group departed the civic offices at 9 heading for Durrow. We left our Gr4 colleagues at seafield and headed for Kilmac for a well deserved coffee in Kierseys where we also saw the end of the rugby match! Refueled the group returned to Dungarvan on the greenway. Thanks to Tony and Danny from group 4. 50km at 23kph.

Group 4 set off from Dungarvan on Saturday morning out the coast road into a strong headwind. There was some relief from the wind as we turned left at 5 cross roads towards Griffins garage a decision was made to head for Kilmacthomas and stay off the N25. Once again we were on the climb out of Kilmacthomas onto Newtown and Carroll's cross. We turned onto the N25 towards Kilmeaden a decision was made to head ... See more

3 weeks ago

Cycling adventures

1 month ago

PLEASE NOTE the trotters will leave Kilrush at 6pm Tuesday evening for the Millstreet circuit. Lights and high vis essential ๐Ÿ˜€