Youth Summer League

DCC Youth League 2015

sponsored jointly by Forde’s Daybreak Dungarvan and MTS broadband

21st July 2016
It was the final night of the DCC beginners league and we there was a great turn out of 34 riders taking part. Another great night of racing was had with all the kids giving it their all.First home was Sam Hodge with Ami Flavin taking 2nd and Rory Donnelly coming home in 3rd.
After 4 hard but enjoyable weeks of racing the overall standings are.
1st Sam Hodge
In joint 2nd is Ami Flavin and Rory Donnelly
3rd Paddy McCarthy
A huge thanks and well done goes out to Patrick Power for running the league. The enjoyment in the faces of all the kids made it all worth while and all the parents and families of the kids seemed to enjoy the racing each week too! In fact the crowd and atmosphere at the finishes was perhaps bigger and better than alot of the senior races! Thanks also to all the parents who helped out, to all the stewards who stood at junctions or cycled with the groups and to the kids who took part for making the league as great as it was! Roll on 2017!

14th July 2016
A great turn out of 27 riders on a wet evening for the juvenile league but a great nights racing was had. Well done to all for braving the rain.
1 Paddy McCarthy
2 Kieran Whelan
3 Rory Donnely
4 Ami Flavin
5 Gary Whelan
6 Elia Tutty
7 Danny Cunningham
8 Jake Hallisey
9 Tommy Flynn
10 Mariana Power

Next week is the final week so let’s hope the weather is a bit better for it.Thanks to all the stewards, and parents for giving a hand on the night. Here is the overall table heading into the final week:
Gary Whelan 150 points

7th July 2016
32 kids signed on for the first race of the beginners league after last weeks TT to decide the groups. Unfortunately the nights racing was marred by a crash with Tom Ferrick jnr and Joe Flynn hitting the tarmac and we wish Tom and Joe all the best with their recovery. The racing continued with Ciaran Frisby taking the win ahead of Gary Whelan and Sam Hodge. The league continues next week. Full results from the night are as follows:
1 Ciaran Frisby 2 Gary Whelan 3 Sam hodge 4 Cathal Sweeney 5 James Feerick 6 Danny Cunningham 7 Darragh Devine 8 Eoin Latamore 9 Cal Tutty 10 Max Fitzgearld .

30th June 2016
The beginners league kicked off on Thursday night with 26 starters. This league is run as a way to get kids into cycling. And it was great to see so many young riders turn up. Big thanks to the parents who helped out with the running of the event. Also thanks to the organiser Patrick Power and Liam Moore on registration. Hope to see you all again next week. The first night was a one lap time trial to see what groups to put everyone in for the road race next week. The following are the times for all the riders:
Ami Flavin 11.53
Tiernan Power 13.44
Sean Tobin 11.55
Rory Donnely 11.25
Simon Power 11.12
Eoin Morrisey 9.23
Bronagh Forne 10.13
James Feerick 13.00
Darragh Devine 9.56
Mariana Power 9.35
Tom Feerick 8.30
Eoin Latamore 9.30
David Gafney 7.13
Cal Tutty 7.44
Jake Hallesey 9.37
Max Fitzgearld 8.40
Rody Morrisey 9.40
Tadgh Wright 11.30
Fin Wright 10.30
Sean Flavin 8.40
Jack Mccarthy 9.10
Tommy Flynn 10.30
Tommy Wall 10.40
Gary Whelan 7.15
Kieran Frisby 6.18
Dani Cunningham 7.12